Header Image for Barlow Parish Council

Brayton & District Joint Burial Authority

 The Brayton & District Joint Burial Authority serves the residents of Brayton, Thorpe Willoughby, Burn and Barlow. The burial ground is situated on Brackenhill Lane, Brayton. 


 On 1 April 1969 the graveyard at Brayton Church (St Wilfrid's) was closed to new graves. Two Acres of land (formerly known as the Gorse Patch) were purchased for the new cemetery.  The Cemetery was consecrated by the Bishop of Selby on 16 May 1972, and the first burial took place on 17 June 1972.

On 31 March 1974 Brayton & District Joint Burial Authority was formed with 3 representatives from  Brayton Parish Council, 2 from Thorpe Willoughby, 2 from Burn and 2 from Barlow.

They are responsible for the running and upkeep of the Cemetery and all records and plans for the Cemetery are kept by the Clerk. The burial authority raises funds by precepting each of the member parish councils.

Interment and reservation of grave space is usually extended to the residents of Brayton, Thorpe Willoughby, Burn and Barlow although this service may be extended to non-parishioners of the above at the discretion of the Burial Authority.

Please note: No Dogs are allowed in the Cemetery.


Should you require any information about the cemetery and current fees, please contact:

Clerk to the Burial Authority

Mrs Sandra Adamson

01757 228762

07733 585866